FFXIV Job Guide – All jobs and classes

by Ana Lopez

looking for a FFXIV Job Guide? Look no further, we’ve made one right here! As ardent fans of the game, we’ve created a handy guide to every task in the MMORPG. Whether you’re a healer, DPS, or tank, we’ve covered them all in detail! Bookmark this page when trying out new jobs.

FFXIV is one of the most popular MMOs right now. It has an incredibly loyal fanbase and hours of content to play through. Whether you prefer the more casual side of the game, or want to try out the hardcore content, there’s always something to do. Meet new people, join a free company and enjoy the wonderful story of FFXIV.

You can learn more about the game on the official website.

Looking for new games to play? Check out our guides to Last Fortress Underground codes, Bless Global codes and Eversoul codes.

FFXIV Job Guide

Now let’s move on to the job guide! Get some popcorn and a drink, it’s gonna be a long one.


At the moment there are only 4 tank rolls in FFXIV, which makes it quite limited for tank lines! See below for our guide to tanks and the jobs required.

Tank roll actions

  • Wal
  • Low stroke
  • provoke
  • Interrupt
  • Revenge action
  • Arm’s length
  • Shirk

Dark Knight

Considered the “edgy” tank, Dark Knight is a popular choice for players. While it doesn’t unlock until you reach level 50 (and reach the Heavensward expansion), it’s fantastic! The weapons are cool, the gear is great, and the storyline for the job is great.

  • How to unlock
    • No base class
    • Minimum level 50 characters
    • Reach the Heavensward expansion and continue through the main storyline until you get to the new area, Ishgard
blood meter

Once you unlock the Grit ability, you’ll also unlock Blackblood soon after. Once you obtain Blackblood you will get the Blood Gauge.

The Blood Meter fills up depending on how much Blackblood you’ve collected. The more the blood gauge is filled, the more actions you can perform that rely on Blackblood, such as Bloodspiller and Quietus.

Darkside meter

Once you’ve learned the Flood of Darkness skill, you’ll unlock a secondary gauge called the Darkside Gauge.

This meter shows you how much time your Darkside has left. Darkside increases your overall damage and its duration can be extended by using Flood of Darkness and Edge of Darkness.

When you learn The Blackest Night skill, your Darkside meter will change to a different symbol. This symbol indicates the Dark Arts.

Dark Arts is granted when The Blackest Night’s barrier is completely absorbed. Dark Arts can be used to perform Edge of Darkness or Flood of Darkness without using MP.

As you level up you eventually unlock Living Shadow. This is a simulacrum of your character and it can fight alongside you. The duration of this simulacrum is shown in red on your Darkside gauge.

Weapon breaker




Now there are 3 categories of DPS in FFXIV. We have broken down the jobs into their respective category, and also listed the required jobs.


Melee roll actions

  • Second wind
  • Leg sweep
  • Carnage
  • Feint
  • Arm’s length
  • True North

Another example of a “sharper” class in FFXIV, Reaper is one of the newest jobs added to the MMORPG. It’s a fantastic melee job that allows you to become a real reaper, and the job has some pretty deep knowledge!

  • How to Unlock:
    • Have a character with a job level to 70
    • Own the Endwalker expansion
Soul and Shroud Meter

As you level up Reaper, you unlock the Soul Gauge. This feature shows how many souls you have collected during the current battle. To collect souls, you must perform certain skills! Your souls can be used to perform certain actions, such as Blood Stalk and Grim Swathe.

The shroud meter has been added to the soul meter, but is displayed in a different color. This meter shows how many Shrouds you have collected during battles. Similar to the soul meter, you can collect shrouds by performing certain actions. The Shroud Gauge allows you to use the Enshroud skill.

Enshroud is the ability that allows you to take on the form of a reaper avatar – it’s pretty cool!

death meter

As you level up Reaper, you’ll also unlock the Death Gauge. This meter shows the duration of Enshrouded and how many stacks of Lemure Shroud you have.

Lemure Shroud stacks can be used to perform Communio and Void Reaping. Once you learn the Enhanced Shroud trait, you can also get Void Shroud when using your Lemure Shroud stacks. This allows you to use the Lemure’s Slice and Lemure’s Scythe abilities.

Physical range

Magic distance


Being a healer in an MMO can be challenging. Fortunately, FFXIV gives players the chance to try shield healing and pure healing. We recommend pure healing for players new to healing, but shield healing is extremely helpful in later content!

Healer Role Actions

  • Peace
  • Esuna
  • Swiftcast
  • Lucid dreams
  • Be sure to broadcast
  • To rescue

Shield healers

Pure healers

In FFXIV, pure healers focus entirely on using their healing abilities. They might have a few shield skills here and there, but overall their gear is all about healing! Expect plenty of regenerative moves and strong healing power.

White Magician

White Mage is one of the most popular healers to use and is incredibly beginner friendly. It is one of the best choices for the hardcore content including Savage raids and Ultimate raids.

Healing meter

The most important thing to know about White Mage’s is the use of lilies. Once you’ve learned the “Secret of the Lily” ability, you’ll get the healing meter.

This healing meter shows the number of lilies you have, up to a maximum of 3. A lily will spawn after a certain amount of time when you take part in a battle. These Lilies can be used to perform certain actions such as Afflatus Solace without using MP – they’re instant casts too!

When you learn the trait”Transcendent Afflatus”, using Lilies will help to nourish Blood Lily. The Blood Lily will bloom after using a total of 3 Lilies, which will allow you to perform the Afflatus Misery ability – a strong AoE attack!

Related Posts